We asked which of the bagels were okay for vegans, and after the person helping us asked two other people, they said any that don’t have cheese or egg in the name. We went with this for the time, but then went to their web site to see for sure before we posted. The vanilla cinnamon bagels list “cinnamon chips” as ingredients, so since we’re not sure what all is in them if anything other than cinnamon, but otherwise here are the bagels that we found to be vegan: blueberry, cranberry, everything, garlic, marble, onion, plain, pumpernickel, salt and sesame (though all contain sugar—we do not know at this time if it is bone char sugar or not, and all are produced in a facility that uses milk and other allergens, so it really depends on how strict you are on this point). If you eat honey, you could also order the honey wheat or sunny grain.
Another option would be a peanut butter and/or jelly bagel, which is often a bagel shop go-to breakfast for us when traveling, though we haven’t ordered that at Barry Bagels. We all know how hard it is to find a hearty vegan breakfast.
We also love to buy a baker’s dozen of bagels and freeze them for a breakfast treat now and then in-between our standard smoothie, oatmeal or toast.
This review was written based on the Maumee location.